Home > Food > Apples on my mind!

Apples on my mind!

Something came over me this morning as I planned my shopping. Only firm plan was to pickup a reserved Massa Organics Duck at the Berkeley Farmer’s market. Vague plan to cook it somehow involving Hoisin sauce. Then found myself stumbling across 3 recipes that featured Apples and all of them made me salivate! Read on for details

First recipe came from the Food Network as I was searching for a Wheat Berry Salad to serve alongside the duck:

Roasted Pheasant with Wheat Berry Salad

What does it include? Roasted apples as part of the Wheat Berry Salad!

Next, I happened to open up a blog that included a “Parting Shot” recipe from Gourmet magazine:

Spiced Applesauce Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

Looks like I’ve decided on my dessert, but looks can be deceiving!

I’d asked for help with cooking duck for my fist time both on Twitter and on the Free Culinary School Forum (see the Meat and Poultry Cookery section for my question and responses) Based on Chef Jacob’s advice – which I’m only partially following – I now plan to adapt the Roasted Pheasant recipe to Duck – roast as Chef Jacob suggests – and slather with Hoisin sauce for the last 40-60 minutes of cooking.

Research done and shopping list prepared, I hop into the shower and, while dressing afterward, turn on my TV and just happen to watch Tyler Florence doing Apple Brown Betty. I couldn’t resist! Change of plans. I’ll do the Applesauce cake BEFORE the duck, and bake the Apple Brown Betty immediately after the duck comes out of the oven so it’ll be hot for desert! Shopping list updated, I head out.

I managed to find everything, but I did have 1 surprise: The duck was frozen! So I’m doing a (hopefully) quick and (hopefully) safe defrost under cold water as I write this. I’m going to say Ta Ta For Now and start cooking the cake and prepping the Wheat Berry salad stuff while the duck continues to defrost. Results to follow…

Categories: Food Tags: , ,
  1. Steve
    24 Oct 2009 at 23:21

    Flash Update: Applesauce cake out of oven and on cooling rack, couldn’t resist sampling while warm and before frosting: Yum!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

