Home > Food > Day 3 of 3 day dessert cancelled!

Day 3 of 3 day dessert cancelled!

Sorry folks, but a funny thing happened on my way to making the ice cream. I just couldn’t do it! Read on for why…

Recap: My 3 day dessert was intended to be Warm Double-Chocolate Brownie Cakes, Chocolate-Caramel Sauce, and Vanilla Ice cream. All from recipes of Emily Luchetti. Done on 3 successive days. Well, yesterday was day 3 and I almost did it!

But for some reason, after my Day 2 post, I got hit by the sleepies. Didn’t wake up until late afternoon. Weather had turned grey and rainy, also somewhat cold. Mentally dragging, I nonetheless still intended to complete my dessert, but at this point I was reluctant because ice cream isn’t, for me, associated with cold rainy days. But since I’d promised it, I started to do it. But…

The first thing I did was check my freezer to make sure the ice cream maker attachment for my stand mixer (which I normally keep in the freezer, ready to go) was indeed there. It was indeed, in the freezer, cold and ready to go. But so was a LOT more ice cream than I remembered! And that’s what caused me to finally say “No”.

You see, I live alone. And I’ve just got too much dessert already stacked up needing eating. I’ve got 1/4 of the Key Lime Pie I did about 10 days ago, 6 of the 8 Double Chocolate Brownie Cakes, and now I find at least 20 servings of ice cream already made. I just couldn’t bring myself to add to the backlog!

So please accept my apology. I will, at some point, complete my 3 day dessert, and it will likely mean doing the cake and sauce again – both of which I should do in any case to incorporate the lessons learned from Day 1 and 2.

In the meantime, one more resource for you:

The Ice Cream recipe will come from another Emily Luchetti book: a passion for ICE CREAM

The link above is, as I hope to always do, a link to the Indie Bound Books site. Normally, I’d ask you to buy this from an independent book seller, but when I called MY favorite indie bookstore, Omnivore Books on Food, I found that it is out of print, and the only place I could find it was used through Amazon. So in this case, if you choose to purchase it from one of the indie killing big book sites, I forgive you!

Catch you soon, probably with an account of Emily’s 3rd fearless baker challenge! I’m hoping that this time, it’s NOT a dessert, for the same reasons I cancelled day 3!

–Steve

Categories: Food Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

