Home > About Me, Life Choices > My Mom has Passed

My Mom has Passed

Kate Senior Elman

1924 – 2012

Mom died on Tuesday, October 23rd, 2013, just before 1:00 PM local time. Quietly. Peacefully. I was by her side. Pachelbel’s Canon in D was playing.

She is survived by myself, her daughter Mary, her granddaughter Adriana, her son-in-law Hugo, and Hugo’s daughters Yanci and Yeni and grandchildren Amayah and Lucas. She lives on in our hearts and memories, as well as in the hearts and memories of the many friends she made and relatives of her late husband, Joseph H Dorst, who came to know her over her almost 88 years of life.

Mary, Hugo and I have decided to have a celebration to honor Mom’s life, but it will be delayed until Mary, Hugo and Adriana return from their Swedish sabbatical. It will be a Latke Party, and it will most likely be in Berkeley. Date? To be determined, but probably in late June, Early July or Mid August, 2013.

For those of you who knew Mom, you likely also know why a Latke Party is a great way to celebrate her life. And for those of you wondering “What is a Latke Party?” and “Why is that significant for celebrating Kate’s life?” I’ll answer those questions in a separate post in a few days. (pssssst: Here’s the Latke Party Post)

If you did know Mom directly, we would love it if you would comment on this post with an anecdote or two. They’ll be included as part of the celebration.

We ask that memorial gifts be directed to one of the following:

  • Mary Senior Travel Fund at International House <– click to donate online or mail to:
    Development and Alumni Relations Office
    International House
    500 Riverside Drive
    New York, NY  10027-3916This fund was established by Mom in 1964 in honor of her sister, Mary Senior. If you donate by mail, please note “Direct to Mary Senior Travel Fund” on the memo line of your check. If you donate online, please put the same in the “Comments/Special Instructions” field near the bottom of the donation form.
  • Doctors Without Borders<– click to donate online, or mail to:Doctors Without Borders
    333 7th Avenue, 2nd Floor
    New York, NY  10001-5004
    1-888-392-0392 to donate by phone
  • Planned Parenthood Federation of America, INC. < Click to donate online or mail to:
    434 West 33rd Street
    New York, NY  10001

Doctor’s Without Borders’ online site doesn’t allow for a mailing address for family notifications of gifts, but it does allow an e-card, so I have set up an email address specifically for this: kateelmanmemorial@gmail.com
They will be forwarded to me, and I will distribute them appropriately.

If you need my mailing address for family notifications, please make a comment to that effect on this post. One of the few things I’m still keeping (relatively) private is my home address. By commenting, I’ll have your email address and will reply privately with my mailing address.

Thanks,

Steve

Categories: About Me, Life Choices
  1. Spring Friedlander
    04 Nov 2012 at 10:14

    I look forward to memorializing your Mom next year. Currently I am flexible any time except between July 20 when I will probably celebrate my 70th birthday and August 12 when I will go to films at the Jewish Film Festival in Berkeley and attend Elderflower in the Mendocino Woodlands.

    Kate and I interwove our lives from 1980 until the middle of 2009, The last time I saw Kate was when I picked her up from the dementia unit and brought her to an OWL meeting. My notes from that follow. Prior to that I visited her, joined her at OWL meetings and parties, was in a Business Women’s professional support and larger group. I went to several Dorst family parties. She introduced me to Harry Winton, my trim man. I did several remodeling projects on her house on San Benito Road and hired her to help me clear my desk. I hung out with Steve and Mary at the family house that they shared with others as a collective house hold on Plaza Dr. I connected with Kate through her listing in for “Clear Your Desk” in Open Exchange.

    I picked up and returned Kate to the OWL party on Sat. June 13, 2009. About 7 people thanked me for bringing her. We all responded (with cross dialog) to her question about how long we have been in the local chapter. It was a good experience to share this semi public event with people (Kate and Ann Shafer) with short term memory loss. We benefited from her deeper question. Kate said this was the biggest adventure of her live from an attitude of gratitude on the return trip.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

