Home > Food, Life Choices, Peregrination > First Peregrination Foodgasm!

First Peregrination Foodgasm!

It took 17 days, but I finally had a truly superlative meal! Thanks to my friend Maysoon Zayid (aka @MaysoonZayid on Twitter) for recommending Caffe Boa in Tempe, AZ. Read on for details …

So there I was, paying 1/2 attention to #Inners (All in with Chris Hayes on MSNBC for those non #Inners reading this) while my other 1/2 attention was on my searching Google for where to eat tonight when, out of the blue, Maysoon tweets about this place she loved when she was at ASU.

Caffe Boa:  Website   Twitter

Their self-description excited me:

Seasonally Inspired, Local, Organic and all natural

While I ended up choosing classing Northern Italian courses, their menu ranges throughout Europe, with occasional Cajun surprises.

So, without further trumpeting, here’s what I had:

1st course:

Classic Bruschetta – Without any cheese!

My only nitpick with the entire meal was that the balsamic was sticky!

2nd course:

Toasted (not fried) Gnocchi with Foraged Mushrooms and Spinach

Believe it or not, this was the first Gnocchi I ever tried! I’d heard of it, and heard it praised highly., and seen it prepared on numerous cooking shows And I wanted to try making it – I’ve collected a few recipes – but thought I should wait until I’d tried it in a restaurant so I had something to compare it to!

These gnocchi were pillowy bundles of toasted potato-y goodness. The mushrooms were Trumpet mushrooms. This dish was so good that, had Morels been in season, this dish alone would have caused a foodgasm within a foodgasm!

Finally, 3rd course:

Tiramisu and a Doppio Espresso

And the piece de resistance? Here’s my receipt:

It’s the first time I’ve ever been thanked by the staff!

All in all, a truly memorable foodie experience. Oh? Did I mention I ate in their outside eating area at sunset? With the temperature a nice, dry 72 degrees, with no wind?

Burp!

–Steve

  1. 25 Apr 2013 at 22:01

    Reblogged this on Food Aficionados and commented:
    WOW! Foodgasm! I have never heard of the word but will definitely enjoy making it the word of the week! So, tell me have you had a foodgasm lately? If so, what was yours?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

