Home > It takes a village, Life Choices > What I couldn’t reveal until today!

What I couldn’t reveal until today!

This past Friday, I promised a “big reveal” of the specifics of what has been taking up so much of my thoughts for the immediate past – and caused me to spend so much time at the computer. This is it! …

Apologies to people who subscribed to the comments of that prior post – where I SAID I’d do this reveal. I decided to do it as a full blog post instead!

Y’all know that I’ve talked about living in and/or creating (or perhaps developing) an intentional community that matches my values. More recently, I’ve also become fascinated with the concept of Tiny Homes – I want to live in one! Actually, I want to combine these ideas!

Recently, I have joined with others specifically interested in researching the possibilities of communities of tiny houses. And just this past couple of weeks, our thoughts and desires have become cohesive enough that, 3 days ago, we (on a handshake) formed the Tiny House Village Resource Center. And since that takes so long to type, I’ll abbreviate it with our quasi-official acronym, THVRC, for the rest of this post.

And 2 days ago, we obtained the domain: thvresourcectr.org and created a Google Apps for Business domain so that we can collaborate on any number of things!

The FIRST thing we collaborated on is a survey which y’all are welcome to look at, but please don’t hit the “Submit” button on the final page unless you are in our targeted demographic: You intend to live in such a community in the next 5 years – or at least you might if the right community appears!

Actually, I’d been working on the survey – and testing it out on a few friends, for almost 2 weeks now. All I had to do was move it from my personal Google Drive space to the THVRC Google Drive Space. How to do that was NOT obvious – I had to call support – which (BTW) is far better for Google Apps for Business users than it is for individuals!

Then I had to integrate it with the website.

Then I had to make it easily accessible to the outside world.

Then I had to prepare for it’s public debut within the Tiny House community – which is in about 2-1/2 hours! (If one of you is REALLY interested, I’ll email you a PDF of the handout – just ask!)

There is FAR more about the THVRC that I’ve been brainstorming than is reflected in the site. And I’m going to resist my tendency to drone on by NOT saying anything more here.

One note on my smoking: I just, this morning, decided that I’m going to leave my smokes behind – venturing out only with my e-cig, whenever I leave the house with the intention of returning before dark!

That’s all for now!

Steve

  1. leslie
    04 Sep 2014 at 20:24

    Exciting!

    • 04 Sep 2014 at 20:33

      I see you didn’t have to wait long to see the “reveal” post!

  1. 17 Sep 2014 at 20:08

Leave a Reply

