Home > About Me, It takes a village, Life Choices, My Tiny House, Tiny Living > A new direction for my blog – and for me!

A new direction for my blog – and for me!

Greetings,

I’ll make this brief: I’m aiming my life towards acquiring (perhaps building) a tiny house and living in an intentional community (village) of tiny houses – which I’m also working to organize. I’ll fill in the backstory later.

Posts related to this direction of my life will be in the category “Tiny Living“. Some will focus on my own tiny house (with the additional category “My Tiny House“), some on the village (category: “It takes a Village“), and some will touch on both (with both categories.)

The rest of this post addresses a common question:

What, exactly, IS a “tiny house”?

Alas, definitions vary widely.

The most generic I’ve seen is: A tiny house is any house that is small enough that it elicits the reaction of “How can you live in something that small?” from people who have been acculturated to the assumption that bigger houses are better. By this standard, the “normal” sized houses prior to WWII would be considered tiny.

My generic definition: Any house that is small enough to force the occupants to focus less on “stuff”.

However, all definitions I’ve seen would include what is most frequently meant by a “tiny house” (at least in the circles I’m in): A VERY small house – somewhere around 200 sqft and frequently far smaller – built on a trailer that does NOT look like either an RV or a mobile home.

Another operational definition (that becomes important in future posts): Houses that are smaller than current codes/ordinances allow. How small is that? It depends on your particular location. Some cities disallow houses smaller than 1,000 sqft! Most have a minimum size of from 400-500 sqft, which under some definitions would qualify under the broader definitions of a tiny house.

OK, I’m about to watch President Obama’s immigration speech, so that’s all for now!

And feel free to comment!

Steve

  1. 20 Nov 2014 at 19:35

    Go for it Steve! According to the International Code Council, anything over 200sq ft is subject to residential construction codes. So, around these parts, most tiny houses are less than that. Otherwise, they have to have a stove and plumbing and insulation, etc. things that are often not desirable in tiny homes.
    Keep us posted on your adventure!

  2. Susan Cox
    21 Nov 2014 at 07:44

    So happy to hear from you. 200 sq ft sounds small…but I have seen some amazing houses using every inch perfectly. I am eager to see pictures from you. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. 22 Nov 2014 at 06:22

    Can I get a tiny vacation home 🙂

    • 22 Nov 2014 at 06:28

      Absolutely! Where you might have problems is (if wheeled) finding a place to park it and occupy it! Stay tuned for a post outlining these issues – and those faced by people building on foundations.

  4. 23 Nov 2014 at 05:10

    Keep us posted. No pun intended. Well, maybe a little… but anyway. I miss talking to y’all. Let us know how it’s going. Bye.

  1. 22 Nov 2014 at 12:54

Leave a Reply

